Help Centre NewZapp Contacts GDPR

            How to ask Contacts to re-confirm their subscription

            This guide shows you the simple way that NewZapp enables you to add a confirmation link into any email campaign, allowing each Contact the opportunity to re-affirm their wish to remain on your mailing list. Note that this confirmation link does not unsubscribe any of your Contacts, but merely provides data about their consent to receive emails from you.


            There are 2 slightly different ways to add a confirmation link, dependent on whether you are using a Fixed or Drag and Drop email template.  

            Please note that with either method, the colour of the confirmation link in your emails when they arrive will match whatever the default link colour associated with your template is. This is regardless of how you edit the look of tag in your email before you send it. As always please send yourself a proof before sending to your distribution list.

             

            Drag and Drop email templates

            1. In NewZapp's Drag and Drop Editor, open the Personalisation Panel on the left. 
            2. There are a number of Personalisation Tags that can be dragged and dropped into any text area in your email. Select and drag the 'Confirm' tag.
            3. Once the Confirm tag is dropped into your text, you will see it change to say '[confirm]'. This will change into a text link that says simply 'confirm' once your email is sent, so place it in your text copy where it will make sense.

             

            For example: "If you would like remain on our mailing list, please [confirm]." in the editor, will covert to "If you would like remain on our mailing list, please confirm." in the email when received.
              

            1. Once the email is received by a Contact, their clicking on the automatically-generated 'confirm' link logs and records that Contact's action as 'Opted-in...' on their Contact Card in your NewZapp Account, under the GDPR tab. 
            2. The Contact will then be taken to an unbranded confirmation message screen.

              See also our User Guides 'How to...Contact Card' and 'How to... Personalisation' for details.

             

            Fixed email templates (not Drag and Drop)

            1. The principle is the same as for the Drag and Drop email, the difference being that you have to type in the custom link placeholder @confirm@ instead.
            2. As previously mentioned, this placeholder will change into a text link that says simply 'confirm', so add it into your text copy where it will make sense.

             

            For example: "If you would like remain on our mailing list, please @confirm@." in the editor, will covert to "If you would like remain on our mailing list, please confirm." in the email when received.
              

            1. Once the email is received by the Contact, their clicking on the automatically-generated 'confirm' link logs and records that Contact's action as 'Opted-in...' on their Contact Card, under the GDPR tab.
            2. The Contact will then be taken to an unbranded confirmation message screen.

             


            Updated: 01 Apr 2019 12:07 AM
            Helpful?  
            Help us to make this article better
            0 0